F. No.1-6/2016-SDF Government of India Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution

Department of Food & Public Distribution

Room No. 260, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi, the June, 2016

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject:

Minutes of the Screening Committee of the Standing Committee on Sugar Development Fund to consider sugarcane development loan proposals for Sugar Development -Reg.

In continuation of this Ministry's O.M. of even number dated 07.06.2016 on the subject, a copy of the minutes of the meeting of the Screening Committee held on 24.06.2016 at 10.30 AM under chairmanship of Joint Secretary (S&SA), Department of Food and Public Distribution is enclosed for kind information and necessary action.

> (N.K. Kashmira) Deputy Secretary (SDF) **Member Secretary** Tel.No.23382338

DISTRIBUTION:

- 1. Deputy Secretary (Finance), D/o Food & P.D.
- 2. Chief Director, Directorate of Sugar/Director (S&VO)
- 3. Representative of ICAR (Sugarcane expert)

Copy for information to:

PS to JS (S&SA)/

PS to DS (SDF)

Special Invitees

- 4. The Agriculture Commissioner, Deptt. of Agriculture & Cooperation, Krishi Bhawan, New
- 5. The Commissioner (CAD), Ministry of Water Resources, Shram Shakti Bhawan, New
- 6. The Director, Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, P.O Dilkhusha, Lucknow, UP 226002
- The Director, National Sugar Institute, Kalyanpur, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh. 7.
- 8. The Director General, Vasantdada Sugar Institute, Taluk: Haveli, Distt. Pune, Maharashtra
- 9. The President, Indian Sugar Mills Association, Ansal Plaza, 2nd Floor, Block-C, August Kranti Marg, New Delhi
- 10. The President, National Federation of Cooperative Sugar Factories Ltd., Apsal Plaza, 2nd Floor, Block-C, August Kranti Marg, New Delhi

(N.K. Kashmira) Deputy Secretary (SDF) **Member Secretary**

Minutes of the meeting of the Screening Committee under Sugar Development (SDF) held on 24.06.2016.

A meeting of the Screening Committee for consideration of the loan applications for sugar cane development under Sugar Development Fund (SDF) was held under the chairmanship of Joint Secretary (S&SA) on 24.06.2016 at 10.30 AM in room no, 167, 1st Floor, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi. List of Members, Special Invitees and Sugar Factory representatives who attended the meeting is at **Annex-I**.

2. At the outset, the Chairman welcomed all the Members of the Screening committee. Thereafter, the agenda item was taken up for discussion with the permission of chair. The observation/decision are as follows:

M/s Vishwasrao Naik Sahakari Sakhar Karkhana Ltd., Yashwantnagar, Posts – Chikahlie, Tal, Shirala, Distt – Sangli, Maharashtra:

SN	Name of project/scheme	Financial Out Lay (Rs. in Lakhs)
1.	Rearing of Nurseries	29.60
2.	Ratoon Management	220.00
3.	Drip Irrigation	300.00
4.	Use of Bio-Control to control White Gurb	50.00
	Total	599.60.00
1.	SDF component (90%)	539.64
2.	Factory's contribution (10%)	59.96

As on 31.03.2015, the DSCR of the sugar factory and the company as a whole is 2.00, FACR is 2.5 and IRR for the project is 68.17%.

The Screening Committee considered the case of loans for Sugarcane Development. DG, VSI, raised the issue of need to promote schemes like rearing of nurseries, ratoon management etc. as the same were required to improve the quality as well as quantity of cane production in the country. DG, ISMA, Director, NSI, Kanpur and representative of NFCSF supported the opinion.

However, in view of the decisions taken during the 129th Standing Committee meeting giving priority to the **Drip Irrigation** as of now, **the Screening Committee** recommended the SDF loan of Rs. 270 lakh, for drip irrigation only, to be disbursed in two installments each of Rs. 135 lakh for the first and second year.

S. No.	Name of Members	Office Address
1	Shri Prashant Trivedi	In Chair
	Joint Secretary (S&SA)	In Chan
2	Chief Director (S&VO)	Member
		[Represented by
		Shri G.S.Sahoo
		Director Sugar
3	Deputy Secretary (Finance)	Member
		[Represented by
		Smt. Rajshiri Khalko
		US (Fin)]
4	Shri N.K. Kashmira	Member Secretary
	Deputy Secretary (SDF)	
5	Representative of ICAR	Member
	(Present)	
	Special Invitees	
6	Dr. Sharwan Kumar, AC (Crops)	Agriculture Commissioner,
		Department of Agriculture
7	Sh. Ravi Sinha, DD	Commissioner (CAD), Ministry of
		Water Resources
8	Present	Director, Indian Institute of
		Sugarcane Research, Lucknow
9	Sh. Shivajirao Deshmukh	Director General, Vasantdada Sugar
	·	Institute
10	Shri Abinash Verma	Director General, Indian Sugar Mills
		Association
11	Shri J.P. Singh, CCA	Managing Director, National
		Federation of Co-operative Sugar
		Factories Ltd.
12	Shri Narendra Mohan	Director, National Sugar Institute,
		Kanpur
	Others	
13	Shri Sudesh Sharma	Under Secretary (SPF)
14	Shri Sunil Chauhan	Under Secretary (SDF)
15	Shri Manmohan Kumar	Section Officer (SDF)