#### F. No.1-6/2017-SDF

Government of India
Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
Department of Food & Public Distribution

Room No. 260, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi, the 18th May,2017

#### **OFFICE MEMORANDUM**

Subject: Minutes of **Screening Committee** of SDF for considering loan applications of sugar factories for **Sugarcane Development** held on Thursday, the 11<sup>th</sup> May, 2017 at 3:00PM –regarding.

In continuation of this Ministry's OM if even number dated 25.04.2017 on the subject, a copy of the minutes of the meeting of Screening -Committee held on 11<sup>th</sup> May, 2017 at 3:00PM, under the **Chairmanship of Joint Secretary (Sugar &Admn.)** is enclosed for your kind information and necessary action.

(N.K. Kashmira) Director (SDF) **Member Secretary** Tel.No.23382338

#### **DISTRIBUTION:**

- 1. Chief Director (Sugar), [represented by Director (S & VO)], Directorate of Sugar, DFPD
- 2. Director (Finance), D/o Food & P.D.
- 3. Representative of ICAR (Sugarcane expert)

### **Special Invitees**

- 4. The Agriculture Commissioner, Deptt. of Agriculture & Cooperation, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 5. The Commissioner (CAD), Ministry of Water Resources, Shram Shakti Bhawan, New Delhi.
- 6. The Director, Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, P.O Dilkhusha, Lucknow, UP
- 7. The Director, National Sugar Institute, Kalyanpur, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh.
- 8. The Director General, Vasantdada Sugar Institute, Taluk: Haveli, Distt. Pune, Maharashtra
- 9. The President, Indian Sugar Mills Association, Ansal Plaza, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, Block-C, August Kranti Marg, New Delhi
- 10. The President, National Federation of Cooperative Sugar Factories Ltd., Ansal Plaza, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, Block-C, August Kranti Marg, New Delhi

(N.K. Kashmira) Director (SDF) Member Secretary

**Copy for information to:** (i) PS to JS (S & A) (ii) PS to Director (SDF)

# Minutes of the meeting of the Screening Committee under Sugar Development (SDF) held on 11.05.2017

A meeting of the Screening Committee for consideration of the loan applications for sugar cane development under Sugar Development Fund (SDF) was held under the chairmanship of Joint Secretary (Sugar) on 11.05.2017 at 3.00 PM in room no, 167, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi. List of participants is at <u>Annex-I</u>.

2. At the outset, the Chairman welcomed all the Members of the Screening committee. Thereafter, the agenda item was taken up for discussion with the permission of chair. The observation/decision are as follows:

## M/s Vikasratna Vilasrao Deshmukh Manjara Shetkari SSKL, Vilasnagar, Latur Distt, Maharashtra:

SN	Name of project/scheme	Financial Out Lay (Rs. in Lakhs)
1.	Drip Irrigation	600.00
	Total	600.00
1.	SDF component (90%)	540.00
2.	Factory's contribution (10%)	60.00

The Screening Committee considered the case of loans for Sugarcane Development. The sugar factory is planning to increase to cover the cane area under drip irrigation from the existing 3000 acre to 4000 acre for which SDF loan assistance has been requested. The Committee desired that this 1000 acre should be clearly identifiable and sugar factory should submit records e.g. land records etc. in support of the same which may further be examined by VSI so that the loan is spent for the purpose for which it is granted.

The Committee desired to invite representative of horticulture division of the Department of Agriculture and Cooperation & Farmers Welfare in meetings of the Screening Committee/Sub-committee whenever ZLD and drip irrigation proposals are considered.

Sugar factory will further submit the accurate figures of cane availability and sugarcane seed varieties proposed to be used. Sugar factory will clear LSPEF and levy sugar dues within one month.

Subject to above, the Screening Committee recommended the above proposal for the SDF loan of Rs. 540 lakh to be disbursed in two installments each of Rs. 324.00 lakh and Rs. 216.00 lakh for the first and second year.

\*\*\*\*

Annexure - I List of Participants of Screening Committee Meeting held on 11.05.2017		
S. No.	Name of Members	Department
1	Shri Subhashish Panda Joint Secretary (S & A)	Chairman
2	Shri G.S.Sahu Director (S & VO) Directorate of Sugar	Member
3	Shri R.K.Pandey Director (Finance)	Member
4	Shri N.K. Kashmira Director (SDF)	Member Secretary
5	Dr. R.K. Singh Representative of ICAR	Member
	Special Invitees	
6	Shri S.R. Kachru Asst. Commissionar (CC)	Department of Agriculture
7	Shri Ravi Sinha Director (CAD)	Ministry of Water Resources
8	Ms. M. Swapna P.S. to Director	Indian Institute of Sugarcane Research, Lucknow
9	Dr. R.S. Hapse Principal Scientist & Head	Vasantdada Sugar Institute, Pune
10	Shri Narendra Mohan Director, NSI Kanpur	National Sugar Institute, Kanpur
11	Dr. Sanjay Awasthi President	Sugar Technologist's Association of India
12	Shri G.K. Thakur Director (Policy)	Indian Sugar Mills Association
13	Shri Prakash P Naiknavare Managing Director	National Federation of Co-operative Sugar Factories Ltd.
	Others	
14	Shri Sudesh Kumar	Under Secretary (SPF)
15	Shri Sunil Chauhan	Under Secretary (SDF)
16	Shri Kanav Dua	Asst. Director (Cost)
17	Shri Manmohan Kumar	Section Officer (SDF)